PIARC Awards 2019

The "PIARC 2019 Awards" of the World Road Association have the following objectives:

  • to encourage innovation,
  • to recognize professional competence,
  • to highlight topics of particular interest,
  • to promote the interests of developing countries,
  • to stimulate long-term reflection on the future of transport systems.

The Awards

The Prizes will be awarded among the best papers submitted in response to the call for papers for the Congress, in the following categories:

  • Young professionals (the co-authors are each under 35 years of age), sponsored by Switzerland;
  • Developing countries (co-authors are from low-income and low-middle-income countries according to the 2019 World Bank classification), sponsored by Malaysia;
  • Safety of road users and staff, sponsored by Australia;
  • Best innovation, sponsored by Belgium;
  • Sustainable development, sponsored by Germany;
  • Road design and construction, sponsored award by the USA;
  • Road maintenance and operation, sponsored by the United Kingdom;
  • Road and intermodality, sponsored by the Czech Republic.

The International Jury

The International Jury is composed of the following members:

  • Andreas Heller, Switzerland
  • Annick De Swaef, Belgium
  • Ir Haji Zulakmal Bin Haji Sufian, Malaysia
  • Peter Ellis, Australia
  • Peter Schmitz, Germany
  • Václav Neuvirt, Czech Republic
  • Derrell Turner, United States
  • Lila Tachtsi, United Kingdom
  • Ernesto Barrera, Chile
  • Roberto Aguerrebere, Mexico
  • Jean-François Corté, France
  • Patrick Malléjacq, PIARC Secretary General
  • Miguel Caso Flórez, Technical Director, PIARC General Secretariat
  • Marie-Claude Petit, Canada, President of the International Jury
  • International Jury Secretariat: Kirsten Graf-Landmann (Germany, PIARC SG)

The awards will be presented at the opening ceremony on Sunday, October 6, and oral presentations of the winning papers will take place during the Congress sessions.